Wednesday, July 10, 2019

More than 40 earn Parkland College degrees in May

More than 40 area students were awarded Associates degrees in fields of study from Communications to Veterinary Technology from Parkland College in May.

Popular areas of study for alumni of Heritage and Unity High School includes nursing, automotive technology and general studies.

Here is a list of graduates by city:

Courtney M. Stewart, AGS, Associate in General Studies

Rory A. Book, AAS, Construction Management
Zachary D. Coffin, AAS, Communication: Media Arts and Production
Brody D. Cole, AS, Elementary Education
Bobbi R. Moore, AAS, Nursing
Michael J. Norwood, AAS, Electronic Control Systems Technology
Megan C. Perry, AFA, Art and Design
Taylor J. Pruitt, AA, General
Elijah J. Richards, AAS, Automotive Technology; CER, Automotive Technician
Brenda L. Roy, AAS, Business Administrative Technology
Bryson L. Steele, AAS, Automotive Technology
Ashlee P. Walters, AA, English (Literature)

Amber D. Bowie, AGS, Associate in General Studies
Lesley A. Chumbley, AGS, Associate in General Studies
Chase S. Hutchison, AAS, Automotive Technology; CER, Automotive Technician
Madison N. Thomas, AA, Social Work

Robert D. Barnard, AGS, Associate in General Studies
Madison M. Clark, AAS, Nursing
Matthew S. Clark, AAS, Criminal Justice
Cory R. Duitsman, CER, Construction: Carpentry
Kourtney R. Ewerks, AA, General
Britton L. Grimm, AA, Criminal Justice Education
Anna M. Happ, AAS, Nursing
Emma C. Powell, AAS, Nursing
Austin M. Stoker, CER, Automotive Technician

Jennifer A. Barnard, AA, General
Morgan B. Cross, CER, Child Development Certificate
Chelsea J. Crowl, AGS, Associate in General Studies
Makenzie K. Heyen, AFA, Art and Design
Karin P. Honeycutt, AAS, Nursing
Angela N. Melvin, AAS, Nursing
Calli J. Robinson, AAS, Agricultural Business: Management; CER, Agri-Business
Sara J. Tate, AA, General
Zachary N. Weaver, AS, Business Administration

Sarah R. Fong, AA, General
Julia G. Gonzalez, AAS, Business Administrative Technology
Melinda S. Hoepker, AA, Communication
Ashley N. Holm, CER, Practical Nursing
Connor M. Kamradt, AAS, Automotive Technology; CER, Automotive Technician
Hunter J. Loschen, AGS, Associate in General Studies
Kristen A. Mathis, AS, Business Administration
Savannah J. Molina, AGS, Associate in General Studies
Gabrielle P. Moore, AS, General
Brooke E. Porter, AAS, Veterinary Technology
Younis Y. Ramahi, AGS, Associate in General Studies
Cayla B. Thompson, AS, General
Mikayla M. Wetherell, AS, General
Sophie E. Woolard, AS, General

Eight area students earn degrees from ISU

Eight area students were among 3,523 Illinois State University conferred with a bachelor degree in May.

Tolono graduates include Kyle Gateley and Taylor Stark earned a Bachelor of Science. Shelby Hildreth, also of Tolono, graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Education.

Also earning a B.S. in Education was Lauren Hamilton from Philo. Another Philo native, Brianna Messman received a Bachelor of Science.

Alexis LeCrone, of Pesotum, who was elected to Vice President of Membership of Pi Beta Phi during her studies, was awarded a Bachelor of Science. Heritage alumni Terra Rumer and Adelai McKinzie also received Bachelor of Science degrees from ISU.

32 Unity Junior High 6th graders make High Honor Roll

Sixty-nine Unity Junior High students in the 6th grade earned honor roll recognition in the final quarter of the 2018-19 academic year. Nearly half the recipients, 32 in all, were named to high honor roll list.

This quarter's awardees for high honors include Jenna Blair Adams, Lindy Marie Bates, Molly Kay Baxley, Sophia Cathryn Beckett, Paige Leeanne Brewer, Michael Allan Bromley, Elle Makenna Cheely, Josephine Rose Cler, Jordan Kathryn Daugherty, Ashlyn Brielle Denney, Kade Ryan Dubson, Chloey Ryanne Duitsman, Ava Maureen Fenter, Catharine Elizabeth Ford, Sophia Ruth Hartke, Lauren Mellissa Hellmer, Alex Nathaniel Mowrer, Makayla Jean Nonman, Camryn Elizabeth Reedy, Ashley Lynn Rennels, Ryan Benjamin Rink, Ryan James Robinson, Maegan Denise Rothe, Savannah Renee Rubin, Lauren Anne Shaw, Abigail Ruth Smith, Daniel Christopher Stein, Grant James Steinman, Joseph Robert Tempel, Avery Elise Watson, McKinley Mae Weller and Nolan Allen Wishall.

Sixth grade students earning honor roll status are Elizabeth Marie Anderson, Emmerson Matthew Bailey, Kolton Andrew Black, Noah Michael Bryant, Bentten Matthew Cain, Madelyn Rae Darnall, Jacob Ivan Davidson, Hunter Michael Eastin, Piper Ann Farney, Sophia Safrona Frye, Alexis Rae Gady, Paige Ann Garretson, Kadence Lynn Goff, Caleb James Hoewing, Dallas Anthony Hollingsworth, Lindsey Michelle Johnson, Andrew Jason King, Lindsey Hightower Lewis, Isabella Cassandra Matthews, Avery Jarrod McGraw, Riley Nichole McNeely, Gracie Marie Meharry, Addison Katie Mumm, Maliyah Marie Ortiz, Brady James Parr, Ryan Zachary Pickett, Reigna Jolie Price, Korben Dale Ray, Nolan Scott Remole, Lydia Claire Rossi, Brock Jacob Schlittler, Owen Michael Taylor, Jessie Nicole Tipsword, Jack Corbin Warren, Gavin Henry David Weaver, Tessah Rae Williams and Joseph Timothy Young.

Wednesday, July 3, 2019

Freedom Celebration ready for rain

Linda Lehovec runs in the 2008 Freedom 5K.
Linda Lehovec of Philo, IL, makes the final turn toward the finish line at the Freedom 5K race on a picture perfect day in 2008. The annual Fourth of July event drew 525 runners and walkers to its' 15th installment. Lehovec finished fourth in the Womens' 45-49 with a time of 27:55.1. In case the weather for this year's Champaign County Freedom Celebration turns less than favorable, organizers have a well-thought out plan to allow area residents to celebrate our nation's independence this week. (Photo: PhotoNews Media/Clark Brooks)

With scattered thunderstorms in the forecast for the Fourth of July, the Champaign County Freedom Celebration posted its Inclement Weather Policy on Facebook. Here is what you need to know if you plan to participate in the 5K walk/run, take in the annual parade or view the evening's exciting fireworks display.

With rain chances at 40%, the event organizers are plans in place for the parade, the evening show and fireworks run as close as it can to the schedule on the Freedom Celebration website. Revelers are encourage to check the site should weather conditions warrant possible changes to start times.

Should weather conditions force the parade to be canceled, it will not be reschedule for another date.

Depending on the timing of any precipitation moving into the area or wind conditions on Thursday, the Board of Directors and Committee consider all the factors that best serves the public and safety protocols and make a decision as when start the fireworks show. The performance may start earlier than scheduled. If the fireworks show is cancelled, it will be held on the following Saturday, July 6.

If weather conditions are favorable, the fireworks show provided by Melrose Pyrotechnics will begin at dusk, approximately 9:15pm.

Visit the CCFC website at for the latest schedule updates and event information.

Top Stories This Month