Thursday, December 12, 2019

Nine Unity seniors receive Illinois State Scholar recognition

Nine Unity High School seniors were named to this year's State Scholar Program by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC).

ISAC recognizes students across the state that maintain an outstanding level of academic performance during high school. In order to be considered, they must be ranked in the top one-half of their class by the end of their third semester prior to graduation. Finally, the student's ACT or SAT score must reach be in the 95th percentile or higher. Only students attending approved Illinois public high schools are considered for this honorary recognition and it is awarded upon successful graduation the accredited school.

This year's recipients are: Kylie Decker, Connor Eastin, Karson Ewerks, Tyler Gadbury, Ella Godsell, Allyson Kennedy, Rachael King, Riley Millsap and Jakub Skupien.

Created by state lawmakers in 1957, the Deerfield, Illinois, based commission's main goal is to make post-secondary education accessible and affordable for resident high school students in Illinois through grants, scholarships and available loan programs.

Top Stories This Month